Beginnings (SOL #1)

To start this challenge, I’m not sure what to write about. I came up with a list of ideas for what to write about – to help me when I’m stuck later this month – but I’m feeling hesitation now.

So I guess I can write about beginnings.

The beginning of my day always starts with hitting snooze three or four times. Usually with my husband finally telling me to get up.

The beginning of the work day starts when I walk into my classroom and log on to the computer. I fire up my local NPR station and settle in for 45 minutes of peace and coffee before the chaos (and fun) of teaching middle school ensues.

The beginning of my planning period starts with a run to the restroom and a snack.

The beginning of 7th period starts with a pep talk. You can do this.

The beginning of my evening starts with a drive home, finally, to spend a little time with my husband before he has to work.

These are a few of the beginnings I experience throughout a normal day. There are many more – the beginning of my workout, the beginning of my bedtime routine – but these stuck out to me as I began writing tonight.

Beginnings offer a chance to start anew. As a teacher, I get to begin again every day. Today, I was listening to the NCTE Voices from the Middle podcast, and guest teacher-blogger/superstar Pernille Ripp gave some advice that I feel lucky I can follow as a teacher. Every day I have the chance to ask my students for feedback, and begin again. There is always something I can start, something I can try, to help reach my students more, and to learn from them.

Standing at the beginning of this Slice of Life Challenge, looking out to the 30 days before me, I have hope. Let the writing begin!

7 thoughts on “Beginnings (SOL #1)

  1. Your thoughts about beginnings are so poignant – what a great way to approach this challenge. I love that you “have hope”.

    Like

  2. I’m a former middle school teacher and will look for you to share other things about your teaching. Your idea about beginnings is perfect, and you wrapped it up beautifully about getting to start again each morning.

    Like

Leave a Reply

