See. Think. Wonder. (SOL #2)

See. Think. Wonder.

I have heard these words buzzing around my district for a while as a way to help make students’ thinking visible. I decided to give this new trend a try today.

It worked wonderfully.

My students are researching child soldiers and crafting arguments on whether or not those children should be granted amnesty. Before watching a video on how ISIS recruits child soldiers, I gave my students a half sheet of paper that had three boxes on it: See, Think, and Wonder.

While watching the video, I had them fill out the “See” box. What images did they see? What information did they hear in this video?

After the video, I gave them a quiet 2-3 minutes to fill in the “Think” box – opinions, connections – and the “Wonder” box – any questions that came up. Then we discussed.

Their interest, engagement, and empathy really struck me during our discussion. So many kids asked, “What can we do to help?” Most of their questions do not have easy answers. This is why we are studying this topic, to show students that creating an argument about real issues is sometimes challenging because it is complicated. There is no clear answer.

Even though they are still grappling with this topic, I am so proud of the work they did today.

Here are some examples of my students’ “Wonder” responses:

2 thoughts on “See. Think. Wonder. (SOL #2)

Leave a Reply

