Sunday Meal Prep (SOL #19)

Most Sundays, I spend a few hours meal prepping for the week. Usually, I just make enough for my lunches, but sometimes I make food for dinners, too. By doing this, I am able to create healthy and balanced meals that are easy to just grab and go to take to work with me.

I like to do my grocery shopping on Sunday mornings, when the store isn’t quite crowded yet, and there is still a lot of good produce. Usually I like to try out a couple of new recipes, but today I stuck with some of my go-tos. Tofu. Sweet potatoes. Broccoli.

Since I am a vegetarian, my main protein source is tofu, which I usually bake in big batches. One block yields enough for two meals – about 20 grams of protein for each of my servings. When I meal prep, I try to stick to a basic formula: 20-30g of protein, 10-20g of carbs, and about one cup of veggies.

Tonight, I dried and baked my tofu, just sprayed with olive oil, and then diced my sweet potatoes while it baked.  While my sweet potatoes cooked (half of them with a little cinnamon on top), I cut up my broccoli crowns to roast later. Everything turned out pretty well, and I added chili powder to half of the tofu, and a delicious chili lime powder from Trader Joe’s to the other half.

These meals are filling and flavorful. They’re pretty simple to make – sometimes I branch out and make chili, or add beans and lentils to my protein, or experiment with different veggies and spices.

Tonight, though, I stuck with simple. With one week to go before Spring Break, I am giving myself some grace to take things easily. Hopefully this week will go smoothly, but if not, at least I’ll have a satisfying lunch.

2 thoughts on “Sunday Meal Prep (SOL #19)

  1. We are starting the Whole 30 program, and meal prepping is a big deal! We’ve never been very good at doing this before, so we’ve got the groceries for a week, and will start making food for the week. It’s going to be an interesting program, and the prep is a must! Thank you for reminding me of this! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

